You are here

Black Lives Matter

At Coop Coco, we champion equality and have done so since our founding. Everyone is equal, whatever their origin, gender, religion, or sexual orientation. As a Black-owned business, these values are extremely important to us and we support them on a daily basis, first of all by being an inclusive employer. We also continuously support organizations and associations and use our reach to share important messages.

George Floyd’s murder shocked, demoralized, and disgusted us all. He is unfortunately one more name on a very long list of the victims of racism. Regis Korchinski-Paquet, from Toronto, was added to that list only a couple days later. This needs to stop!

We refuse to sit back and complain about society while doing nothing. Every person on our team is an active member of this very society, and we must continue to make our voices heard and denounce these violent and oppressive acts. We will continue to promote equality and help educate those around us, while continuing our own education. We will continue to support organizations and associations that defend the most vulnerable, the least visible, and the oppressed.

The future that we want to have, the society in which we want to live: we need to create them together, today. You can do many things to contribute to this future: get informed, sign petitions, contact politicians, or make donations to organizations.

It’s important to act now.

To learn more about the various ways you can help, we recommend this link:  

https://blacklivesmatters.carrd.co/

To learn more about the situation in Canada, we recommend reading these articles:

Remembering 27 black indigenous and racialized people killed by canadian police (English only)

Cops ‘Shaping the Narrative’ Around Regis Korchinski-Paquet’s Death: Lawyer (English only)

Le soulevement étudiant le plus explosif dans l'histoire du Canada (French only)

Vous êtes ici

- Black Lives Matter -

À Coop Coco, et ce depuis le début de notre existence, nous défendons l'égalité entre tous les êtres, quels que soient son origine, son genre, sa religion, ses préférences sexuelles... En tant qu'entreprise appartenant à une personne noire, ces valeurs d'équité et d'égalité sont extrêmement importantes pour nous, et nous les soutenons au quotidien. En étant un employeur inclusif tout d'abord, mais également en soutenant continuellement des organismes et associations et en profitant de notre image publique pour transmettre des messages importants.

Le meurtre de George Floyd nous a tous bouleversés, démoralisés et écœurés. Il rejoint malheureusement une très longue liste de victimes du racisme qui sévit toujours aujourd'hui. Il y a quelques jours encore, à Toronto, le nom de Regis Korchinski-Paquet est venu s'ajouter au sien... Cela doit cesser!

Nous ne souhaitons pas rester immobiles, à nous plaindre d'une société dont nous, ainsi que chaque personne de notre équipe, sommes les acteurs. Il nous semble important de continuer à faire entendre nos voix et à dénoncer ces actes tyranniques. Nous continuerons à promouvoir l'égalité, à participer à l'éducation de ceux qui nous entourent, tout en continuant la nôtre. Nous continuerons de soutenir des organismes et associations défendant les plus vulnérables, les moins visibles et les opprimés.

Le futur que nous souhaitons avoir, la société dans laquelle nous souhaitons vivre se créent maintenant et ensemble. Pour y contribuer, plusieurs choses peuvent être faites, des gestes que chacun peut réaliser : s'informer, signer des pétitions, interpeller les personnalités politiques, faire des dons à des organismes...

Il est important d'agir dès maintenant. Pour en savoir plus sur les différentes façons de faire, nous vous recommandons ce lien (en anglais uniquement) : https://blacklivesmatters.carrd.co/

Pour vous informer sur la situation au Canada, nous vous conseillons entre autres la lecture de ces liens :

https://thatsatruestory.wordpress.com/2020/04/17/remembering-27-black-indigenous-and-racialized-people-killed-by-canadian-police/ (en anglais uniquement)

https://www.vice.com/en_ca/article/y3zv5w/cops-shaping-the-narrative-around-regis-korchinski-paquets-death-lawyer (en anglais uniquement)

https://www.rcinet.ca/fr/2016/02/04/le-soulevement-etudiant-le-plus-explosif-dans-lhistoire-du-canada/ (en français uniquement)